A few words from our guests....

Gorgeous place in a stunning location.  The kids loved exploring the property, visiting the cows & climbing the rocks.  The birdlife is amazing,  Sally & Richard were so welcoming and helpful. 

Jessica, Ian, Isabelle, Oliver, Gretta, James, Marcus, Hamish, Nikki & James, Sydney & Blackheath NSW

October 2019

 

A great family holiday in a beautiful location with excellent amenities & great hosts.  Looking forward to coming back after this dreadful drought is over.  We stay positive that it will be over sooner rather than later.  This is beautiful  country. The glow of the morning sun over the hills & the stars at night are sights that will remain with us.

All the best Sally & Richard.

Peter & Robyn, Melbourne, VIC, Erin, Drew, Flynn & Daman, Newcastle, NSW

October 2019

Thank you, thank you for a beautiful relaxing & enjoyable stay for the whole family.  We had David's birthday here & it was just perfect!  Just what the country boy needed!  Thank you, we will be back again soon.

David & Monique, Sydney NSW

September 2019

Cattle, wombat, kangaroo, magpie, currajong & cockatoo.  Peace & serenity.  We regain our sanity.  Fresh eggs, marmalade & red wine too.

Christopher & Michelle, Melbourne VIC

It was wonderful to experience life in this beautiful part of NSW, albeit briefly.  Thanks to Sally & Richard for welcoming us & sharing something of their life here.  

Thank you to Sally & Richard for their wonderful hospitality.  What a super place to spend a few days relaxing& enjoying the wildlife.  Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

A very enjoyable stay & a great opportunity to spend a few relaxing days in country NSW.  Thanks to Sally & Richard for their hospitality and a return visit is on the cards.

David, Sydney, NSW Ruth, Edinburgh, UK & Anne, Inverness, Scotland, UK

September 2019

Lovely place for a family holiday.  Our first with baby Arthur.  Richard & Sally are lovely hosts & made us feel very welcome.

Eliza, Rob, Rowena, Tim, Lesley & Arty, Manly, NSW

July 2019

Great place for a getaway with our families.  The fire pit was well used.  Thank you to Richard & Sally for being such lovely hosts.

Karen, Sydney, NSW

July 2019

Thank you for allowing us to stay in this beautiful cottage & surroundings, the fire was great but the bonfire was something else!  

O'Donovan family, Picnic Point, NSW

June 2019

The Milton family visit:

It was fabulous  to travel with my sisters, our mother & our hubbies to the home our Mum grew up in. It was her father who originally built this farmhouse is 1920.  He was a return soldier from the Somme.  He had lost a leg, received this land grant.

To see and experience the place where so many of my Mothers memories took place is so special.  Sunrise today on my birthday will be with me forever.  Thank you.

Thank you, we had a great weekend, brought back a lot of memories - good ones.  I am sure my Mum would be happy to see the old home survived.  I won't but, could tell a few stories - mostly good.  Thank you again & I wish you love & good fortune & good guests too. 

It was an absolute joy to travel here from the far South coast to be with our family.  This was our Mothers childhood home & it meant a lot to us to be able to spend time here.  Thank you Sally & Richard for the efforts you have made and your thoughtful hospitality. 

It was so lovely to return as a family along with our Mother Eileen, to her family home of many years.  To be joined by our husbands as well who could all enjoy story telling & bringing to life everything we have heard about at Old Bara.  To think my Grandfather built this home with his hands is so powerful & everything that followed show the immense strength & determination of our ancestors & I am very proud to follow.

Absolutely lovely to stay where Mum grew up, such a peaceful & relaxing weekend, thank you. 

The ancestors of the Milton family. 

Eileen Horan is the 6th child to Winnie & Percy Milton, the original owners of the Old Bara Farmhouse.  Eileen visited with her family:

McIntosh family, Horan Family. Williams family.  Garside family.

Frenchs Forest, Bodella, Mt Colah, NSW

June  2019

This is our first time here in this lovely relaxing cottage, we often come to Mudgee & would love to stay here again.  Thanks Sally & Richard, this is the perfect getaway place for us.

Ray & Brenda & Ollie, Grays Point, NSW

May 2019

Thank you so much for hosting us this weekend.  Your guesthouse was lovely.  Also thanks for coming to help us with our popped tyre!

Sarah & Winnie from Sydney Ticketek NSW

May 2019

Beautiful, relaxing place to stay, kids had a great time making their own fun (no phones).  Richard & Sally - thank you so much for having us, great place to relax & enjoy Mudgee.

Gina, Frenchs Forest, NSW

April 2019

A good relaxing 4th trip to Mudgee & a great place to stay.  Thanks Richard & Sally for having us again.

Hilary, Greg, Oscar, Fletcher, Archie & Ivy, Sydney, NSW

April 2019

Thank you for a special time in a special place!  We soaked in the views & sounds.  We enjoyed wonderful wine & we were treated with a thunder storm.  All the best!

Sara, Jason & Sebastian, Bainbridge Island, WA, USA

March 2019

Like a "Tardis"!  looks small on the outside, HUGE on the inside!  Wonderful house, & the chance to see the stars in the dark sky was magnificent.

Colin, Katrin, Kevin & Della, Dublin, Ireland

March 2019

Loved our short stay in the cottage, wish we had longer, love the location, fully equipped kitchen & outside tables.

Marian & John, Sydney NSW

January 2019

Had a great time at the Old Barra guesthouse.  A well kept farm house, relaxing, neat  clean.  Drove to the picnic table & enjoyed evening walks.  Richard & Sally were good hosts.

Rohit, Marsden Park, NSW

January 2019
 

We loved or stay, particularly the garden for dinners & watching the stars.  The dogs were extremely pleased with our choice and the Havilah quarry swimming hole on the Lue road was splendid.

Anastacia, Sydney, NSW

December 2018

We had a lvoely stay!  Very relaxing!  The kids loved the cows & kangaroos!  The parents loved the wine!  We all loved the sunroom & fireplace.  Thank you Sally & Richard

Joyce, Sam,  Geoff, Samantha, Scarlet, Gwenyth & Bumblebee.  Sydney, NSW

November 2018

We loved the pretty garden with the lovely birds.  A wonderful stay.  Thank you.

A lovely environment for catching up with friends & family, very comfortable, thank you.

Strauss & Seages, Wahroonga, NSW

November 2018

Thank you Sally & Richard for sharing your beautiful piece of paradise!  We had a very relaxing week, walking, biking & card playing.  The girls absolutely loved it & the city dog loved the country air!  We will be back again.  Cheers!

Amanda, David, Amelia, Felicity & Poppy, Sydney, NSW

October 2018

Another beautiful stay!  Never long enough.  Thanks Richard & Sally

Penny, Allan, Chris, Willy, Sue & Maggie.  Sydney, NSW

July 2018

What a wonderful stay!!  Great friends, beautiful spot, inviting & warm house that's been our home for the past couple of days,  Stay much too short!  Thank you Sally & Richard - we will be back!!

Carol, Brad, David & Leanne  Parkes, NSW

July 2018

Thank you, we enjoyed our stay very much, including the -4 morning & the frost.

Anne-Maree, Pete, Zach & Rosie, Sydney NSW

July 2018

Had a great stay, loved the fire & the wombats, thanks very much.

John & Delma, Lismore. NSW

July 2018

Thanks very much Richard & Sally, We've had a very relaxing stay at Old Bara.  You have a beautiful property, great walk up to the picnic table.  Thanks for the winery recommendations.

Rob & Ally, Albury, NSW

July 2018

We had the most relaxing long weekend at Old Bara!  Thanks for such a  wonderful welcome & well equipped house with everything we needed for a great weekend.

Mark, Priscilla, Emma, Dave, Jane, Carrie & Dogs!  Sydney, NSW

June 2018

Thank you for a lovely stay.  A beautiful setting & very comfortable!  We had a great weekend eating, drinking & relaxing!  We would love to return.

Michele, Rob, Jen & Greg.  Balmain, NSW

June 2018

Pleasantly surprised at Mudgee - just came up for a look, I'll certainly be back, the accommodation was good, great actually!  Thanks!!

George & family.  Sydney, NSW

May 2018

Thank you for having us as guests at Old Bara, "How's the Serenity" - we loved being out in the wide open spaces, stargazing & the challenging games of "Nitty Gritty" & 'Hedbanz" (the board games we discovered in the cupboard!)  Although we lost all our money at the Mudgee races, we were happy the mighty Dragons had a win!!

Steve, Jill, Nigel, Karen, Glenn, Mai & Allen.  Cambewarra NSW, Haywards Bay NSW, Sans Souci , NSW, Nelson Bay, NSW

May 2018 

We really enjoyed staying at Old Bara Guesthouse, we loved the peaceful surrounding & the beautiful landscape.  Very relaxing indeed!!  We will certainly be back!! Richard & Sally were very helpful & welcoming.  Thank you!

Richardo, Carmen, Mario.  Wahroonga NSW, Newcastle NSW

April 2018

We had such a wonderful stay.  This is our 2nd visit & we will certainly be back!  Mudgee Anzac Day dawn service was a highlight!  Beautiful weather!  Can't speak highly enough about our gorgeous hosts. Nothing could be better!  

Hilary, Greg, Oscar, Fletcher, Archie & Ivy.  Sydney NSW

April 2018

We would highly recommend Old Bara Guesthouse, it was clean, well equipped, comfortable & set in a lovely peaceful surrounds.  Richard & Sally were more than helpful & made us feel very welcome.  Found it hard to leave.

I don't want to leave!  Ethan 13yrs

Leigh, Ethan & Sandy

Petersham NSW. Lancashire UK

March 2018

It was lovely to stay in your guesthouse & not at one of the lovely campsites for once!  We thoroughly relaxed & enjoyed all the comforts, it will be hard to rough it again!

Gaya & family, Sydney NSW

Thank you for a great time, we thoroughly enjoyed staying at Old Bara house for the charity shield.  We loved driving around the property, seeing the picnic spot & watering hole.  Queenie had a blast running around the gardens.  Thank you for the great hospitality.

Chelsea, Simon & Queenie, St Andrews, NSW

February 2018

We enjoyed the property & surrounds so much & Richard & Sally made the experience from booking all the way through so easy & stress free.  Thank you for your hospitality & definitely coming back!

Brett & Natalie.  Hill Top NSW

February 2018

A great place to stay & visit the wineries. Robert Stein Pipeclay Restaurant was superb, a great find equal to anywhere in the world.  A great introduction to the outback Australia for our international visitors.  Sally & Richard are great hosts & the place was great.  Poodles loved it as well!

Lindsay, Steve, Vicki, Michael, Linda & Malcolm.  Melbourne VIC.  Turramurra NSW.  London UK

January 2018

We had a lovely time out of the city, we love Mudgee & surrounds, especially Old Bara.  What a joy!  Thank you for making us feel so welcome Richard.  We took your advice and had lunch at Lowe winery ... bought a bit too, drank a bit too!  Cheers!

Donna, Cass, Chaz & Buddy.  Sydney NSW

January 2018

Thanks a lot Richard & Sally, we loved our stay at your beautiful country house at Old Bara.  Richard thank you for your company & driving us safely through the wineries.  The had an amazing time.  Sally, thanks for welcoming us for wine & cheese at your house!  I definitely recommend your house!

Sam, Sydney

March 2017

What a beautiful house!  Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home.  Everything was very clean and had all we needed to make our stay very pleasant.  I especially liked the electric blanket!  Richard, thank you for being our driver, but not only that, but for being really down to earth!  I look forward to coming back for a visit.

Julie, Sydney NSW 

March 2017

Thank you Sally & Richard for a wonderful stay.  They were both very accommodating even ensuring we had a cake tin & candles for my daughters 12th birthday cake!  The kids loved riding their bikes around the property & we all loved just sitting around the fire at night.  A wonderful house for an awesome Easter break.  We'd love to come back soon.

Leanne, Sydney NSW

April 2017

Thank you Sally & Richard for a wonderful stay.  Old Bara is our new country home away from home!  Our dog Milo had the most wonderful stay too - thanks for being so accommodating.  Our children also enjoyed the garden & long tracks to explore.  Until next time

Julie & Todd

I had the best time at Mudgee.  I really liked the hourse and the cow, and my dog did to thank you and I liked ridding my bike!

Julie & Todds daughter Sophie!

April 2017

Wow!! What a wonderful place!  We have all thoroughly enjoyed our country farmstay.  It is so peaceful & relaxing.  The house was wonderful and so comfortable.  Our hosts, Sally & Richard have the x-factor!  So welcoming and knowledgable.  Even the dog loves them!!  We will certainly be back.  Thanks Sally & Richard & thanks Mudgee.

Hilary, Greg, Oscar, Fletcher, Archie, Ivy & Dodger

Sydney NSW

April 2017

Lovely stay, so quiet & peaceful.  Thank you Richard & Sally, you have a lovely property.  Also thank you for squeezing us in at such short notice.

Ambrosolis family. NSW

April 2017

My family & I came to celebrate my 40th birthday.  Aged between 6 & 78.  We enjoyed the beautiful rural property immensely.  We loved the picturesque walks, had dusk campfires by the creek and spent hours wombat, kangaroo & bird spotting.  We also fully explored the local area, enjoying all that Mudgee has to offer and still found time to play in the very pretty garden of the Old Bara guesthouse and of course enjoyed a glass of Robert Stein shiraz by the cosy fire.  We would love to come back one day.  Many thanks

Thomas, Meg, Michael, Marnie, Max & Yasmin.  Northern Beaches Sydney. NSW

This place was awesome!!!!!! Max, aged 8!

April 2017

A couple of newcomers on the scene for this trip!  As always, everyone had a great time.  Thank you Sally & Richard for the stay.  Will see you soon hopefully.

Pas, Anthony, Jesse, Roc, Sam, Francesca, Theo

Sydney NSW

May 2017

Thank you Sally & Richard, this place is beautiful. I was here 2 yrs ago in the summer.  Winter frosts are stunning when viewed from your cosy guesthouse.

Gayle, Raby & Gladys.  Sydney NSW

June 2017

Oh, what a restful & beautiful time we had on your lovely farm.  Thank you for your hospitality, a wonderful place to come & recharge.

Eksteens.  North Avoca NSW

June 2017

The six of us enjoyed a cosy & quiet break from the city at Old Bara.  Thank you for your hospitality.  Pipeclay Pumphouse was perfect for our friend's birthday celebration, thank you!

Jenni, Sydney

August 2017

We loved every minute of our visit to Old Bara Guesthouse & its surroundings.  It was lovely to see our 5 mth old poodle so free & happy on the land.  We experienced the most beautiful sunrise on the 19th & then frost on the 20th!  I havent seen frost in decades!  Thank you so much Nagels

Stella & Lawrence & Jackson the poodle.

Thornleigh NSW

August 2017

Beautiful & relaxing, love the verandah & wildlife.  People lovely and De Beaurepaires winery the "best" will be back!

Peter & Jo, Springwood, NSW

September 2017

We all enjoyed the experience here.  Everything was so relaxing - clean air & beautiful night sky.  We walked, went yabbying, had a camp fire, enjoyed the indoor fire.  Saw the pups & fed the chooks!  The garden bloomed while we were here.  Never seen so many bees in all my life!  Thank you Sally & Richard for being wonderful hosts.

I had the best camping holiday ever, everything we did was super fun!  "We did so many things in 5 days, so I can't list them all but one of my favorite things was the puppys and the swing.  It was so fun.  5 star holiday!!"

Sandra, Bob, Brenda, Lesley, Stephen, Tracey, Tom, Tilly, Angus, Stuart, Bridget, Harry & Ben.

Brisbane. Qld  Tweed Heads, NSW,  Canberra,  ACT,  Sydney NSW

September 2017

Loved every minute of the peace & serenity, have had a wonderful experience & looking forward to coming back.  Richard & Sally have been more than accommodating. Lowe wines so far are the best, more tasting to come!  Also loved seeing the abundance of birds.

Lorraine, Kevin, Dan, Prue, Carlie & Ben.  Sydney NSW

October long weekend 2017

Had a lovely relaxing holiday at the Old Bara Guesthouse. 

Ramesh & friends.  Sydney NSW & Melbourne VIC.

December 2017

We had a lovely stay from the time we entered your property, every moment was enjoyed.  The birds, kangaroos seen at different times.  Very peaceful house, neat and clean.  Your hospitality and service Sally & Richard was so good.  The picnic spot which you advised was the best place.  We advise all to go to that spot.  We would suggest our friends and family to visit your place.

Trekkaud, India & Sri Lanka Tours.  Sydney NSW

December 2017

We had a lovely time, loved the birds, the cute & curious cattle, lots of roses, lilacs, iris, wisteria and all the rest!  We enjoyed fresh farm eggs and got a discount at Robert Stein wine when we said we were staying at Old Bara enjoying a bottle of their red over BBQ.  Gorgeous!

Ruth, Paulette & Marg, Bondi & Lilli Pilli NSW

October 2016

Too short - but a great spot!

Robert & Pauline, Canberra ACT

October 2016

Stunning countryside, warm welcome, comfy accommodation.

Sue & Penny, N.Avoca

November 2016

A delightful stay in a wonderful spot.  Bird song, cook ups and boule - what more could you ask for!?  Thanks!

Phil, Tim, Stef & JJ Sydney NSW

November 2016

Thank you for sharing this "piece of heaven" with a Canadian who loves the countryside.  Australia has wonderful, natural beauty that I am enjoying! 

Ruth, Waterloo, Ontario Canada

November 2016

A wonderful 2 days enjoying the countryside, the garden & the peace.  Thank you for your special hospitality.

Lyn, Wamberal NSW

November 2016

Such a delightful catch-up!  We are impressed with the Richard Nagel sculptures, their clever names and the workshop for future works.  Loved our rissoles and evening drinks with the crew at Old Bara, thank you!

Sarndie, Avoca, NSW

November 2016

Many thanks for a lovely couple of days in your serene surroundings, beautiful lush countryside, & for your very kind hospitality. 

Janie, MacMasters Beach. NSW

November 2016

Lovely place to get away for some R&R, no traffic, aircraft or any noise apart from birds & cows!  The dog loved running around the backyard.

Jarred & Nadine.  Queenscliff NSW

November 2016

What a brilliant place to have a family Christmas - Loved it!!

Anderson & Singleton family, Fairlight, Kings Langley & Mudgee, NSW

December 2016

Just loved our stay with the best company ever!  Enjoyed some good wines, excellent food but most importantly it was the people who made our stay so special.  Another wonderful stay!

Ray, Vib, Tor, Harky, Gunnedah NSW.

December 2016

accommodation in mudgee,farmstay,guesthouse,mudgee,farmstay,self contained accommodation,mudgee rental,mudgee guesthouse,pet friendly,self contained,4wd,homestead,rental home mudgee,mudgee,farm,bush accommodation,stay in mudgee,mudgee wine,old bara,farmhouse
accommodation in mudgee,farmstay,guesthouse,mudgee,farmstay,self contained accommodation,mudgee rental,mudgee guesthouse,pet friendly,self contained,4wd,homestead,rental home mudgee,mudgee,farm,bush accommodation,stay in mudgee,mudgee wine,old bara

Sally & Richard Nagel welcome you

Ph: 02 6373 6555

Mob: 0408 764 851 (Sally) or 0412 734 225 (Richard)

stay@oldbara.com.au

  • Facebook App Icon